The Johns Hopkins Department of Medicine Diversity Council and the School of Medicine Office of the Vice Dean for Faculty announced the visit of Dr. Gail Kerr as the 16th Annual Myron L. Weisfeldt Distinguished Visiting Professor in Diversity, 2019.

Dr. Kerr was the featured speaker at Medical Grand Rounds on February 1.  The title of her talk was “Reducing ethnic disparities in rheumatoid arthritis: using EMRAC as a roadmap.”

Dr. Kerr is chief of the Division of Rheumatology at the Washington D.C. Veterans Affairs Medical Center and Howard University Hospital, and professor of medicine at Georgetown University and the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. Dr. Kerr completed both her medical degree and internal medicine residency at UWI, where she also served as Chief Resident. She completed fellowship training at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Maryland.

A highly regarded and internationally recognised physician-researcher, Dr. Kerr’s scholarship has included evaluation of therapeutic modalities for gout, osteoarthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, psoriatic arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis and systemic lupus erythematosus; as well as optimal management of rheumatic diseases in diverse populations.

Dr. Kerr has had an exceptional record of national and international service including as a member of the FDA Arthritis Advisory Board and the USP Rheumatology Expert Committee, as well as Chair of the VA National Rheumatology Consortium.  She is currently a member of the Steering Committee for the Caribbean Rheumatology Association, a Board Member of the VA Insitute of Clincial Research and Chair of the Ethnic Minority Rheumatoid Arthritis Consortiu,/

Named by her peers and colleagues as one of the top 21 doctors in the Washington-Baltimore-Northern Virginia area, Dr. Kerr is the recipient of multiple awards for her research excellence, exceptional contributions to graduate medical education and service. She is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, the Royal Colleges of Physicians and the American College of Rheumatology.