Professor Emerita the Honourable Elsa Leo-Rhynie (nee Fairweather) and a SAHS Trailblazer has chalked up another first. She is the first woman (and sixth person) to receive the UWI Chancellor’s medal. The medal was presented by Sir George Alleyne, Chancellor of the University of the West Indies (UWI) in a recent award ceremony at the at the UWI Regional Headquarters, Mona.

The Chancellor’s Medal is a special award of distinction made by the UWI Chancellor to a person who “has made a signal, substantial and likely lasting contribution to the welfare and development of The UWI, in the spirit of the CARICOM Heads of Government Declaration of Grande Anse which formally identified the leadership of UWI in tertiary education and decided that its regional character should be preserved indefinitely for the preparation of skills and advancement of knowledge needed for the growth and development of the Caribbean region.”

Previous recipients were: Sir Philip Sherlock (1998), Sir Alister McIntyre (1998), The Most Hon. P.J. Patterson (2006), Prof. the Hon. Rex Nettleford (2009), and Sir Shridath Ramphal (2011).

Read More in the Observer